Readings

I finally gotten myself time to catch-up with some much needed reading:

  1. To Serve Other Gods by Michael A. Harbin
  2. Anime Explosion: The What? Why? and Wow? of Japanese Animation by Patrick Drazen
  3. People in Glass Houses: An Insider’s Story of a Life In & Out of Hillsong by Tanya Levin

And no…I am not at a point in my life where I “have questions regarding my beliefs”.

One snippet that I really liked…

“One Japanese traveller, Sugimoto Etsu, sailing to America in the late 1800s on a boat full of Western women commented on their dress as more immodest than her kimono, giving some interesting reasons:

I found that most of the ladies’ dresses were neither high in the neck nor full in the skirt, and I saw many other things which mystified and shocked me. The thin waists made of lawn and dainty lace were to me most indelicate, more so, I think, unreasonable though it seemed, than even the bare neck. I have seen a Japanese servant in the midst of heavy work in a hot kitchen, with her kimono down, displaying one entire shoulder; and I have seen a woman nursing her baby in the street, or a naked woman in a hotel bath, but until that evening on the steamer I had never seen a woman publicly displaying bare skin just for the purpose of having it seen.”

An interesting observation of cross-cultural differences. Comments please, ladies?

~ by shybeg122 on December 7, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
