I really do think that…

i’ve come to a point in my medical education where I realize that I’ve already set out my goals and what I want to achieve in medicine. And with that, I will work within those goals and motivate myself accordingly.

Most people will ask about the choosing of a specialty as a goal. I doubt that it is the case for me….I have other things in mind. Something more family based…more ministry based or perhaps…more hobby based. I can’t really put it into words unfortunately. Unlike my colleagues who can boldly say that “I want to be a neurosurgeon” or “I want a mansion in Toorak”, I probably will keep my head in the sand for the time being.

Earlier this morning whilst I was doing my morning prep to go to the Austin, I was telling myself that “Just because I joined one ward round on this particular day in 2008, it doesn’t mean I will be 1% a better doctor”. The principles of being a good doctor still remains: Compassion in your dealings, sufficient knowledge to be a safe doctor and the communication skills to relay the proper information to your patients. The old adage, “Cure sometimes, Relieve often but Comfort always” has never been so true.

We doctors are not gods.

Cheerio.

~ by shybeg122 on March 3, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
