How wrong I was…

I fell asleep while following the election results which were coming in thick and fast through the newspaper websites (NST, Star, Utusan, Malaysiakini) at about 3am. At that time, it was about 50-15 in BN’s favour. I woke up the next morning to find out that the Opposition parties have seized 82 seats in total while also wrestling control of Kedah, Penang, Perak and Selangor from BN hands.

This, ladies and gentlemen is unprecedented in Malaysian political history.

I can’t say that I am totally over the moon with this piece of history but suffice to say that I am proud that Malaysia has dared to put a foot forward into what seems an unknown. We can’t predict what is to come…and many have feared the worst. Whatever it is, I am sure our blessed nation and people are able to pull their heads in to build a stronger and better nation. We are better…together (to borrow a line from somewhere familiar).

I know what people will say about my heavy interest in Malaysian politics even though I have decided not to go back to work in the near future. This is my reply: “The last time I checked my citizenship, it says Malaysian. And thus, I will fulfill my role as a concerned citizen of my country till death do us part. If circumstances change, so be it. But for the moment, Malaysia and all that it is still runs in my blood”.

Now…take that you useless “Malaysian” apostate who cheers the Opposition but shies away in fear of change. You who criticize without being politically aware. You who preach divisiveness but yet demand Malaysia to ‘progress’. Is this you? I pray not.

More takes on the recent General Election results to come.

For now, enjoy these videos. By the way, 3 cheers to the blogging community of Malaysia!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=LiovTxe5RCw

http://youtube.com/watch?v=-I6MAHuZZGs&feature=related

http://youtube.com/watch?v=RoZPmEm5XFQ

Cheerio.

~ by shybeg122 on March 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
