Tinge of Nostalgia

Hearing Hayashibara Megumi as Lina Inverse in the new “Slayers Revolution”, I had the urge to go through the deep ‘catacombs’ of anime songs that I have. My goal: those glorious songs of old, songs of anime titles so classic and so influential. It has been a long long time since those heady days when nearly everything was hand-drawn.

So what did I dig up? I found myself listening to OPs and EDs of the Slayers series, Neon Genesis Evangelion, Ah! My Goddess, To Heart, Sakura Taisen (I know, its not that old), Kare Kano, Revolutionary Girl Utena, the original Macross, Vision of Escaflowne, Maison Ikkoku, etc etc etc.

Nostalgia indeed. “To Heart” aside, one can certainly see the parallels between great music/song arrangements with the success of the anime produced. Hence, anime producers beware! Ignore the audio indulgences at your peril!

That reminds me, the way things are going, Macross Frontier (if convention holds) should make it very big indeed, if it hasn’t already done so.

I am going to leave you with this picture of a couple of Macross F cosplayers from the recent Wonder Festival in Tokyo, Japan. Taken from Akibablog.

Cheerio.

~ by shybeg122 on August 6, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
