Kara no Kyoukai 5: Mujun Rasen (Spiral Paradox)

I am confused but yet I am astounded.

I had a lot to think about but yet it seemed simple.

I thought I could understand it linearly but dang did it spiralled on me.

Those were my thoughts after watching the 5th installment of Kara no Kyoukai. To begin with, it was a real theatrical length feature (close to 2 hours), which is quite uncommon for a multiple episode anime. But boy, did it deliver the goods. The animation production values (which was already brilliant) is fantastic and was augmented by great BGM work. That being said, it was quite bloody.

Now for the plot….I must say that its strength and its weakness lies in the flashbacks and backtracking of time within the flow of the show. My gut feeling is that the balance was a bit off towards the confusing side although by the end of the show, I can make sense of the whole lot. It helps that I have considerable experience with TYPE-MOON works already but I do doubt that the average viewer might not be able to catch on. Then again, perhaps it was simple but having the experience might have contributed to me being over-analyzing the plot devices.

Either way, this episode throws up many concepts and food for thought. I’ll get to that when I can. Please await the edits to this post  =D

~ by shybeg122 on February 2, 2009.

One Response to “Kara no Kyoukai 5: Mujun Rasen (Spiral Paradox)”

  1. You said there is lot of blood involved? Really? I will stay away.

Leave a Reply

 
