It’s Time For A Post On Anime !

Yes indeed! Before you tire from listening to my rants on life in general…..there is light at the end of the tunnel  =D

What should I type about?

I know…I’ll talk about some of the anime OP and ED sequences from a few of the more recent anime titles. Here it goes in no particular order:

  • Chizu Sanpo (the OP from Maria-sama Ga Miteru 4th Season). Besides being a peaceful and cheery tune, I like the sequence that they have put together. It shows the changing of the guard in the Yamayurikai with the more ‘cute-ish’ personnel represented by Yumi, Yoshino and Shimako coming on board, developing into maturity.
  • Kimi ni, Mune Kyun (the ED from Maria Holic). I know how most people were going up and down about HANAJI, that nosebleed provoking OP sequence. But, don’t you like that retro (8-bit pixels) video game style? I thought it awesome especially paired with that upbeat (plus nice use of techno-voice) song. Studio SHAFT at one of their (wildly) imaginative best
  • Kioku (the ED from RIDEBACK). I have raved enough about this in an earlier post.
  • Beautiful Fighter (the OP from Shikabane Hime: Aka and Shikabane Hime: Kuro). I don’t know which part that I truly liked…the nice pace of song plus beautiful graphics or the scantily clad well-proportioned ladies of the show. Hmmmm……
  • Silky Heart (the OP from Toradora!). This piece is a good example of matching lyrics (plus beat) to the actual graphic sequence. To be top it off, it also matches the stage of development for each particular character. If you watch carefully, each line corresponds well to the character being featured at that particular time in the sequence. I think it speaks well not only of the characters themselves but also about the show itself. To think that I was skeptical about it when it first appeared.
  • Toki wo Kizamu Uta (the OP from CLANNAD: After Story). It’s my handphone’s ringtone. Enough said.
  • Rimless (the ED from Toaru Majutsu no Index). It gives me a nice peaceful vibe…hmm…..
  • Shinai (the OP from White Album). Nana Mizuki gives a good vocal performance with that sort of oldish (late 80s and pan-90s) J-Pop background tune. It matches so well with the show that I think it perhaps the next best in terms of pairing behind Silky Heart with Toradora! Sure…some people may well demean the value of the sequence only because of its all-pastel look. I would beg to differ, the simplistic colour and shade of it may well prove to be the better match. I mean…look at the ED and the episode preview sequences, how can you have it any other way?

I think that’s enough for the night right?

Cheerio.

~ by shybeg122 on February 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
